Mounting your stamps

I recently discovered that while I had been scrapbooking and stamping a lot, I had a lot of stamp sets that I had never mounted. For those of you who have never bought stamps from Stampin’ Up! before, let me share with you what to expect. You will recieve a plastic storage box with lots of wood blocks, a page of stamp image stickers, and a sheet of foam mounted rubber. The idea being that you can put the image sticker where you want on one side of the wood block, and the rubber where you want on the other side of the block. The nice thing about this is that you get full control of your stamps, the downside is you probably have some apprehension about how to actually get the suckers on the block just right. I know I did!

I read the paperwork provided by SU and did some research on the internet and boy was I confused. But after some advice from some fellow demonstrators and a lot of practice, I now have many mounted stamps and a lot more confidence. Though I don’t know how much longer I will need it as Stampin’ Up! has started die cutting all of their new designs so you no longer have to do the cutting…. just pop out the image from the rubber sheet, stick it on the wood, and you are off stamping!

But just in case there are those of you staring at your unmounted stamps and feeling a little overwhelmed like I was, I wanted to post the tips I learned.  Leave me a note if you have other tips to share or questions about these steps! 

How to mount your stamps

One Response

  1. Iv’e been thinking about removing the wood from my stamps and storing them in labeled cd cases. I used to be a Stampin’ Up consultant and have thousands of wood mounted stamps. I must move and storage is going to be a major problem. I was wondering if this is a project you might know details about. Thank you for your help.

Leave a Reply

